Almond ‘I can’t believe it’s not cheese’ Parmesan

Almond 'I can't believe it's not cheese' Parmesan

Almond ‘I can’t believe it’s not cheese’ Parmesan

So the one thing I miss most about being Vegan is….CHEESE! I have Italian in me and I’m sure cheese forms part of the essential amino acid make-up in our DNA. I remember piling parmesan and romano cheeses onto the delicious pasta sauce my Nonna would make every Sunday- “Some cheese with your Spaghetti?!” my dad would ask me tongue-in-cheek, as I would cover every inch of my plate. Consequently, finding a decent cheese replacement was one of the first things I set out to do when I became Vegan… and I think I have found it!

As with most of the recipes here, this one is also easy to make and has become a staple item in my fridge. I’ve had quite a few non-vegans try this on top of my pasta sauces- and they have all been pleasantly surprised at how tasty it is!

 

Ingredients:
• 2 cups of raw almonds
• 1 Tbsp of granulated garlic (optional)
• ½ cup of Nutritional/ Savoury Yeast (What is this?)
• 1-2 pinches of salt to taste

 

Preparation:
1. Turn oven to 180 Celsius
2. Place almonds on a baking tray and medium roast for approximately 10-15 minutes
3. Allow almonds to cool and then place them, along with remaining ingredients, into the food processor
4. Process all ingredients until they have formed a smooth powder.
5. Store in an air-tight container. This mix will make enough to fill a 1000ml container and will store for up to two months (if it lasts that long!)

About thepassionforcompassion

I'm an animal loving soul with a passion for creating more compassion in the world, both towards ourselves and all sentient beings :)
This entry was posted in Dairy-free Alternatives, Entre's and Garnishes, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almond ‘I can’t believe it’s not cheese’ Parmesan

  1. Pingback: Recipes to Make You Say, “YES” to Vegan Cheese | Honk If You're Vegan

Leave a Reply

